Opinion – Page 11

  • Chris Jones is founder of the Knot Agency
    News

    Do trends pass us by?

    2018-07-17T16:27:00Z

    The World Cup is now a distant memory for most of us, writes Chris Jones. However, during the course of the tournament the England success captured the attention of the country and created a truly trending event, even amongst those not interested in football.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Invest in internal communications

    2018-06-14T17:02:00Z

    Lots of emphasis is placed on communicating externally with customers, clients, partners, suppliers and stakeholders, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Andy Sims is MD of AJS Technical Services
    News

    Person Behind the Face – Andy Sims – AJS Technical Services

    2018-06-14T17:01:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I started working life as an engineering apprentice in the Midlands, geographically as far from the sea as is possible in the UK, with little knowledge of ‘marine’ apart from a ferry trip when I was ten. I ended up at Cooney Marine which became ...

  • Mark Stevens is an associate in the employment department of law firm VWV.
    News

    Social media in the workplace

    2018-06-14T17:00:00Z

    Social media can be extremely useful in the workplace with many businesses using platforms to promote their brand, writes Mark Stevens.

  • Jeremy White is loft manager at Elvstrom Sails
    News

    Person Behind the Face: Jeremy White –Elvstrom Sails

    2018-05-29T15:58:00Z

    How I got into this industry…Aged 14 I had a Saturday job at Knight and Pink Marine dinghy builders, and this turned into an apprenticeship. Boat building was not for me, so I joined a sail loft called North Sails. I found the transition of turning a flat bit of ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is the MD at ADPR
    News

    Plan. Practise. Learn. Repeat – the importance of crisis planning

    2018-05-29T15:57:00Z

    Everyday seems to reveal significant crises in organisations. It’s easy to bury your head in the sand and think it won’t happen, but the reality is at some point an organisation – no matter their size - will face a crisis, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming Accountants
    News

    Making sure you are GDPR ready

    2018-05-21T11:24:00Z

    The General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) became law on May 25 2018, so it is important to check how these new rules may affect your organisation.

  • Paul Morton is tax director at the Office of Tax Simplification
    News

    Tax simplification review: comments sought

    2018-05-21T11:21:00Z

    The UK tax code is one of the longest in the world and it keeps growing. The Government acted in 2010 to tackle this complexity by setting up the Office of Tax Simplification (OTS) to advise the Chancellor on ways of simplifying the tax system.

  • Bob Stockley is MD at Icom (UK)
    News

    Person Behind the Face: Bob Stockley – Icom (UK) MD

    2018-05-01T09:47:00Z

    How I got into this industry…Accidentally. I was doing casual work around the local markets in Kent when I left school, involving selling clothing (stay-pressed and tonic suits) and collecting fruit and veg from New Covent Garden.

  • Andrew Rayment is a partner in the employment department of law firm Walker Morris
    News

    Wage deductions are unlawful unless authorised

    2018-04-27T10:16:00Z

    Section 13 of the Employment Rights Act 1996 sets out the provisions that protect workers from unauthorised deductions (known as unlawful deductions) being made from their wages.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming Accountants
    News

    The minimum wage / pension increases

    2018-04-26T15:57:00Z

    The new tax year brings a number of key changes for employers. Two pressing financial adjustments are the new employee rates of pay to comply with the national minimum wage (NMW) regulations and increases in workplace pension contributions.

  • Mark Stevens is an associate in the employment department of law firm VWV
    News

    Using social media in the workplace is widely debated

    2018-04-11T15:31:00Z

    Social media can be extremely useful in the workplace with many businesses using platforms to promote their brand, writes Mark Stevens.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD at ADPR
    News

    GDPR comes into force this month

    2018-04-10T16:59:00Z

    The much-discussed EU General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) come into effect later this month (May 25 2018). Ideally by now you will have your ducks in a row, but don’t fret if not - there’s still time - just, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Rachel Hibberd is director of Dean & Reddyhoff
    News

    Rachel Hibberd - Person Behind the Face

    2018-03-20T14:59:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I took a temporary job after university with a charter company, and I’ve been in and around the industry ever since.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming accountants
    News

    Spring Statement news for business

    2018-03-20T12:00:00Z

    Despite the Spring Statement being a low-key affair, there were nevertheless a few business-related consultations published. Perhaps the most important is the government’s review of the VAT threshold - frozen in the autumn Budget at £85,000 until March 2020, writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Consumer trust cannot be bought

    2018-03-09T15:36:00Z

    As consumers, we have grown savvy to adverts. We would rather trust the opinion of someone like us, someone who has ‘tried and tested’ the product and tell us whether it works or if it’s worth the purchase price.

  • Ed Husband is a partner and head of litigation and recoveries at law firm VWV
    News

    Effective contracts help protect a business

    2018-03-09T15:30:00Z

    The first few months of 2018 have seen the financial demise of three high profile businesses - Carillion, Maplin and Toys R Us. In addition, administrators from KPMG have been appointed over Oyster Marine Holdings and Oyster Marine, writes Ed Husband.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming Accountants
    News

    Time to review tax affairs

    2018-02-21T14:28:00Z

    As the end of the tax year approaches it’s a good opportunity to review tax affairs to ensure allowable allowances are claimed, writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    A picture is worth 60,000 words - why visuals are so important

    2018-02-20T16:59:00Z

    The increased influence of digital and social media platforms in recent years means we now live in a world where communication is increasingly visual – think emojis, GIFs and video calling writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Technology lawyer Dai Davis of Percy Crow Davis & Co argues that UK businesses should register their trademarks
    News

    Trademarks – are they worth registering?

    2018-02-20T16:54:00Z

    As Boating Business has previously reported, Hanse Yachts recently obtained preliminary injunction against an Italian imitation of its Fjord motor boats. The case essentially revolves around trademarks. Technology lawyer Dai Davis of Percy Crow Davis & Co argues that UK businesses should register their trademarks as these are valuable and ...