Opinion – Page 3

  • Kate O'Sullivan (2)
    News

    Six tips for dealing with negative comments on social media

    2021-11-09T10:43:00Z

    A negative social media comment or review is never something a brand looks forward to.

  • Charles Hansard
    News

    Person Behind The Face - Charles Hansard

    2021-10-28T10:08:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I have worked in the maritime industry and other industries as a supplier since 2003. However, as an Army officer I had a deployment in HMS Bristol in 1989 and that gave me the first taste of life on the ocean waves.

  • Kirsty Swinburn
    News

    Tax change on the way

    2021-10-28T09:47:00Z

    Earlier in 2021, the government announced a consultation on proposals which would see a significant change to the way that sole traders and partnerships are taxed, writes Adam Bernstein.

  • Kate O'Sullivan (2)
    News

    Tips for dealing with negative comments on social media

    2021-10-25T09:35:00Z

    A negative social media comment or review is never something a brand looks forward to. However, reviews of any kind are opportunities to show your company values, writes Kate O’Sullivan, MD of ADPR.

  • CEO Lesley Robinson British Marine
    News

    Specialist training from BM

    2021-10-25T09:31:00Z

    Effective training addresses critical requirements for the marine industry. It provides avenues for vital workforce recruitment, enables upskilling for personal and business progression and promotes staff retention through structured career pathways.

  • Chris Jones is MD of the Knot Agency
    News

    Top Instagram tips

    2021-09-27T14:15:00Z

    Businesses are getting increasingly involved in Instagram, but many are still unsure, writes Chris Jones. Here are our top tips to help get you started.

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO of British Marine
    News

    Watersports growth continues

    2021-09-24T13:13:00Z

    British Marine’s latest research confirms that strong growth in boating and watersports is continuing.

  • Adam Bernstein is a freelance financial journalist
    News

    The long march of COVID

    2021-09-23T13:19:00Z

    There just seems to be no escape from COVID, writes Adam Bernstein. For some, there was furlough, job loss, business turndown or failure. For others, hospitalisation, and death. But what about those left with Long-COVID?

  • Dave Cockwell is the MD of Cockwells Modern & Classic Boatbuilding
    News

    Person Behind the Face - Dave Cockwell

    2021-09-21T15:31:00Z

    How I got into this industry…At the age of 15, I earned a reputation at Bristol Docks as ‘the kid who could fix boats.’ I became a ‘one-man repair shop’ who refitted and restored yachts. I quickly discovered that superior craftmanship was prized by wooden boat owners who sought desirable ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Lessons from the pandemic

    2021-08-27T16:42:00Z

    Now that it’s looking like, finally, the worst of the pandemic is over, some things will go right back to the way they were before, writes Kate O'Sullivan. But there are some more fundamental changes that look set to stay. Here are some key communications lessons.

  • News

    SIBS returns

    2021-08-27T16:27:00Z

    This month’s Southampton International Boat Show (SIBS) has real poignancy, enabling a long-awaited return to energising face-to-face networking.

  • Paul Martin is associate director at First Peninsula Marine
    News

    Person Behind the Face - Paul Martin

    2021-08-23T11:58:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I worked part-time in the family business, BHG Marine from the age of 13 and although vowing never to get sucked in, and after a few jobs elsewhere and a year travelling overseas, I joined full time in 1990 until we sold the business in ...

  • Chloe Themistocleous is a senior associate at Eversheds Sutherland
    News

    Debunking employment law myths – part two

    2021-08-23T11:55:00Z

    Assumptions can be very dangerous. While there’s a chance that a decision made on a hunch might be correct, there’s also the risk that it’ll be found wanting and employees are often advised to pursue claims to protect their rights, writes Adam Bernstein.

  • Kate Moss is account manager at the Knot Agency
    News

    The rise of the QR code

    2021-07-31T09:47:00Z

    Thanks to the pandemic, we’re all now experts at spotting and using a QR code.

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO of British Marine
    News

    DIT cancels TAP

    2021-07-31T09:43:00Z

    Last month, the Department for International Trade (DIT) informed British Marine, without warning or consultation, that it is cancelling its Tradeshow Access Programme (TAP).

  • Stephanie Horton is MD of River Canal Rescue
    News

    Person Behind the Face - Stephanie Horton

    2021-07-31T09:41:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I married the wrong man! Both myself and Trevor (CEO) are engineers and he developed a passion for boats, and quickly identified a need for a service like the RAC and AA…then I got roped in and now I live, sleep and breath boats.

  • Lucy Gordon, director, Walker Morris LLP
    News

    Debunking employment law myths - part one

    2021-07-19T15:07:00Z

    It’s not unusual to find employers making decisions based on an understanding of the law centred on a series of urban myths. And this can lead to costly and long-running litigation, loss of management time and bad publicity.

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO of British Marine
    News

    On The Water campaign launched

    2021-06-25T14:01:00Z

    British Marine is not only committed to representing the industry at all levels, but to giving our members the tools to thrive. One of these is the launch of our On The Water campaign, geared towards growing our industry and maximising the benefits for new participants coming into boating and ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR public relations agency
    News

    Empathy – the key business skill we’ve been missing?

    2021-06-23T16:09:00Z

    Over the past 18 months the workplace as we know it has changed drastically. The era of remote and hybrid working has arrived and attaining better employee engagement is critical for many businesses, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • David Manda is a director in the real estate litigation team at law firm Walker Morris.
    News

    Lease breaks - top tips and traps

    2021-06-23T16:06:00Z

    In times of economic uncertainty, many businesses look to rid themselves of surplus property to reduce rental liabilities. The pandemic, and the consequential surge in home - and flexible - working, has also demonstrated that many businesses can operate effectively with much less rented commercial space.