Opinion – Page 6

  • Adam Bernstein is a freelance financial journalist
    News

    Bouncing back to happiness

    2020-08-07T14:57:00Z

    Just as the government has been handing out money to businesses under threat as a result of coronavirus, so it has a number of loan-based programmes to keep struggling firms afloat, writes Adam Bernstein.

  • The new code of practice applies to all businesses affected by the coronavirus pandemic
    News

    Stopping business evictions – again

    2020-08-03T12:32:00Z

    When the coronavirus pandemic forced the government to take action back in March, one of the regulatory changes put in place was a ban on landlords seeking evictions of non-paying commercial tenants, writes Adam Bernstein.

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO of British Marine
    News

    Investing in our industry’s future

    2020-07-29T15:31:00Z

    British Marine is working hard towards our National Agenda objectives on behalf of members and underpinning this is the creation of a sustainable business model that offers excellent member benefits whilst ensuring a financially viable future for the organisation.

  • Andrea Frabetti is CEO of Sunseeker International
    News

    Person Behind The Face - Andrea Frabetti

    2020-07-27T16:13:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I was always obsessed with boats from a very early age. My passion led me to complete my Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering degree from Università di Genova and I’ve been doing what I love ever since.

  • David Johnson is sales director at Halyard
    News

    Person Behind The Face - David Johnson

    2020-07-16T15:20:00Z

    How I got into this industry… Weekends on the family boat on the River Thames in the 1970’s led to boating holidays abroad. With the sea well and truly in my veins, my working life started with four years as an engineer in the Royal Navy. I then moved into ...

  • Chris Jones is MD of the Knot Agency
    News

    Listening is vital

    2020-07-14T15:50:00Z

    The world population holds a hugely diverse number of opinions, thoughts and viewpoints, on all manner of subjects, writes Chris Jones.

  • Adam Bernstein is a freelance financial journalist
    News

    Low Pay Commission extends deadline

    2020-07-02T14:00:00Z

    The Low Pay Commission (LPC) has amended its consultation on seeking evidence to inform its recommendations for the 2021 national minimum wage rates to ‘make clear the LPC would continue to accept written evidence beyond the deadline’ of Thursday 4 June 2020, writes Adam Bernstein

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO  of British Marine
    News

    Let's share our passion

    2020-06-22T12:22:00Z

    As the nation looks for safe ways to emerge from lockdown and considers a staycation this summer, British Marine is delighted to launch its ‘Summer on the Water’ campaign to inspire people to get kitted out and responsibly take to our waters and spread the word of the incredible on-water ...

  • Nick Gill is commercial director at Harbour Assist
    News

    Person Behind the Face - Nick Gill

    2020-06-17T13:34:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I’m a farmer’s son, but I studied product design and my second job was with Gul, designing wetsuits in Cornwall, where I fell in love with the sea. My tech expertise came from starting a surf forecasting website and the practical side from ten years ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of PR and marketing company ADPR
    News

    Maximising external communications post COVID-19

    2020-06-17T13:32:00Z

    As you prepare for making the most of the post COVID-19 recovery, consider how to maximise value from your external communications, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Adam Bernstein is a freelance financial journalist
    News

    Government help extended

    2020-06-17T13:30:00Z

    No government wants to be in a situation where it’s facing economic collapse as a result of a supervening event. But that’s what Boris Johnson’s government found when coronavirus took on mankind in March.

  • News

    Acas guidance - Covid-19

    2020-06-02T12:25:00Z

    Acas, the government’s employment conciliation service, has revised its guidance on vulnerable people in the document Coronavirus (COVID-19): advice for employers and employees, writes Adam Bernstein.

  • Chris Jones is founder of the Knot Agency
    News

    Consumer trends

    2020-06-01T16:18:00Z

    The world as we knew it is no longer. Consumer behaviour patterns have changed radically in recent months and adapting to meet these new trends could set your business apart as we transition into the post Covid era, writes Chris Jones.

  • Lesley Robinson is CEO of British Marine
    News

    Navigating to the new normal

    2020-05-18T15:43:00Z

    Even though the acute threat of COVID-19 will pass, this virus is a transformative event that will change lifestyle and businesses forever.

  • Paul Holland is MD of Energy Solutions
    News

    Person Behind the Face - Paul Holland

    2020-05-13T10:32:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I bought a 38m Dutch Barge. Contacts in that community put me onto some Dutch manufacturers of products which led me to giving up a perfectly good job and starting up Energy Solutions.

  • Sean Roebuck is director of SeaDek
    News

    Person Behind The Face - Sean Roebuck

    2020-04-22T12:36:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I’ve been boating for over ten years and while my boat was in the Med I realised that sun and hot decks were an issue. After some investigating I discovered SeaDek but it was only available in the USA. I called them, flew to Florida ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Maintaining visibility during COVID-19

    2020-04-22T12:03:00Z

    Whatever situation your business has found itself in during COVID-19, its critical you maintain visibility with your customers in order to keep your brand front of mind – whether or not you are currently still operating, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • It's easy to panic in times of crisis says Adam Bernstein
    News

    Coronavirus – key information for employers

    2020-04-20T11:42:00Z

    It’s remarkable to think that something as small as a virus has stopped the global economy in its tracks. There are countless issues for businesses, but one that is vexing employers is what to do with staff?

  • Gareth Edwards is a partner in the employment team at VWV
    News

    What's changing for employers of EU nationals?

    2020-04-17T13:41:00Z

    The UK left the European Union at the end of January and while there has been much debate about procedures, many employers will be wondering what happens next. The simple answer is nothing. Yet, writes Gareth Edwards.

  • Lesley Robinson: BM is delivering member support
    News

    Resilience before reinvention

    2020-04-08T11:11:00Z

    It goes without saying that Covid-19 has rapidly impacted every aspect of life and in response British Marine has mobilised quickly delivering member support and government lobbying, says CEO Lesley Robinson.