Opinion – Page 13

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD at ADPR
    News

    GDPR comes into force this month

    2018-04-10T16:59:00Z

    The much-discussed EU General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) come into effect later this month (May 25 2018). Ideally by now you will have your ducks in a row, but don’t fret if not - there’s still time - just, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Rachel Hibberd is director of Dean & Reddyhoff
    News

    Rachel Hibberd - Person Behind the Face

    2018-03-20T14:59:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I took a temporary job after university with a charter company, and I’ve been in and around the industry ever since.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming accountants
    News

    Spring Statement news for business

    2018-03-20T12:00:00Z

    Despite the Spring Statement being a low-key affair, there were nevertheless a few business-related consultations published. Perhaps the most important is the government’s review of the VAT threshold - frozen in the autumn Budget at £85,000 until March 2020, writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Consumer trust cannot be bought

    2018-03-09T15:36:00Z

    As consumers, we have grown savvy to adverts. We would rather trust the opinion of someone like us, someone who has ‘tried and tested’ the product and tell us whether it works or if it’s worth the purchase price.

  • Ed Husband is a partner and head of litigation and recoveries at law firm VWV
    News

    Effective contracts help protect a business

    2018-03-09T15:30:00Z

    The first few months of 2018 have seen the financial demise of three high profile businesses - Carillion, Maplin and Toys R Us. In addition, administrators from KPMG have been appointed over Oyster Marine Holdings and Oyster Marine, writes Ed Husband.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming Accountants
    News

    Time to review tax affairs

    2018-02-21T14:28:00Z

    As the end of the tax year approaches it’s a good opportunity to review tax affairs to ensure allowable allowances are claimed, writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    A picture is worth 60,000 words - why visuals are so important

    2018-02-20T16:59:00Z

    The increased influence of digital and social media platforms in recent years means we now live in a world where communication is increasingly visual – think emojis, GIFs and video calling writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Technology lawyer Dai Davis of Percy Crow Davis & Co argues that UK businesses should register their trademarks
    News

    Trademarks – are they worth registering?

    2018-02-20T16:54:00Z

    As Boating Business has previously reported, Hanse Yachts recently obtained preliminary injunction against an Italian imitation of its Fjord motor boats. The case essentially revolves around trademarks. Technology lawyer Dai Davis of Percy Crow Davis & Co argues that UK businesses should register their trademarks as these are valuable and ...

  • Adrian Miles is the MD of Bruntons Propellers
    News

    Adrian Miles - Person Behind the Face

    2018-02-15T15:44:00Z

    How I got into this industry…I grew up in a sailing family racing dinghies and thought what can I do that involves boats. The initial idea was to be a yacht designer but I ended up making propellers. Not sure quite how that happened but it has given me a ...

  • Robert Games is the MD of Albright IP
    News

    Is the UK boat industry missing out on innovation tax savings?

    2018-01-25T17:22:00Z

    Intellectual Property (IP) is vital for the UK boat sector, not only does it create much needed value in the sector but it protects its innovations and the many great brands that make it up, writes Robert Games.

  • Kate O'Sullivan is owner and MD of ADPR
    News

    The changing role of social media in communications

    2018-01-19T16:10:00Z

    With the development of social media channels, businesses now have the chance for direct communication with their customers in real time. We take a look at how companies are using social platforms as their primary method for communication, writes Kate O''Sullivan.

  • Richard Roberts and Simon White are joint CEO and co-founders of TheYachtMarket.com
    News

    Richard Roberts and Simon White – People Behind the Face

    2018-01-17T17:26:00Z

    How I got into this industry…. RR: I wasn’t happy in the world of commercial architecture. It was either a property or boats portal and my passion for sailing and love of the ocean won. SW: Richard had the idea of building an online boating marketplace. With my background ...

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming Accountants
    News

    New commissioner to help businesses with their credit control

    2018-01-04T13:16:00Z

    Small firms struggling to deal with business customers who are slow payers have new help in the form of a small business commissioner, writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Peter Shervington is a senior associate at Eversheds Sutherland
    News

    Product branding and product liability risk

    2018-01-04T13:12:00Z

    Product liability is creeping ever higher up the list of boardroom priorities for businesses, writes Peter Shervington. Increased media attention on product safety incidents brings the potential for a badly managed crisis to kill off a company entirely.

  • Jason Piper is a senior manager in tax and business Law at the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
    News

    New year, new tax challenges

    2017-12-18T11:52:00Z

    January is always a good time to look ahead and make plans and HMRC is doing its bit to assist firms in that regard. With a raft of announcements in the November Budget there are a number of proposals that, when implemented, will affect how a business runs its tax ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD at ADPR
    News

    Are you ready for GDPR?

    2017-12-12T15:03:00Z

    The EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) comes into effect on May 25 2018 and it holds significant implications for marketing.

  • Mark Luffingham sailing on board Jessica
    News

    Mark Luffingham - Person Behind the Face

    2017-12-07T11:59:00Z

    How I got into this industry… My mother saw an advert for a sales manager/director at marine electronics manufacturer Stowe Marine. The following morning, I went to look at the building, met the MD and that evening submitted my CV. 185 applicants and four interviews later, the job was mine.

  • Fleur Lewis is a partner at Bishop Fleming
    News

    Are you paying the right amount?

    2017-11-20T10:24:00Z

    If you employ people, you need to make sure they are being paid the minimum rates of pay and that you are properly calculating their holiday pay writes Fleur Lewis.

  • Rob Stevens is MD of Topsail Insurance
    News

    Rob Stevens - Person Behind the Face

    2017-11-10T14:06:00Z

    How I got into this industry…My Father started in Lloyd’s in the late 50’s, then my brother in the 80’s so in 1986 it was a natural progression for me to go onto a Lloyd’s marine syndicate. I’ve been in marine insurance ever since. I’m not sure what I want ...

  • Kate O'Sullivan is MD of ADPR
    News

    Writing a winning award entry

    2017-11-08T13:05:00Z

    Winning a prestigious award and even securing a nomination can be used as a fantastic new business tool, writes Kate O''Sullivan. Awards increase your credibility, the company’s profile and lift team morale.